May 31, 2011

  • It’s Nothing, Really

    My mother was a virgin, I was born in her herb garden
    and my father, a fine mechanic, seemed to be her only friend.
    I had Jesus sprinkled on my head, God granted me a pardon
    and if I abstain from sin then I can live life without end

    But now I know it’s all a lie, told with the grace of god
    to encourage me to love without vain, selfish expectations
    to let me be who I really am, everyone, a friendly nod
    and let life do its damnedest, I can deal with complications

    the only foil to my existence
    is a passive, strong resistance
    to allow me my truisms or blues
    in an awkward manner of speaking
    with small portions of me leaking
    into light like it’s fast-breaking news
    my truth isn’t really mine to choose

    a poet doesn’t need to check his facts
    with research or any kind of study
    he just tosses his words like a stone in a pond
    and then sees if the water gets muddy

Comments (7)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *