July 5, 2011

  • All I Can Recall About My Great-Aunt Annie

    She was a dignified, graceful lady
    with flowing long white hair
    my parents visited her begrudgingly
    and she had knick-knacks everywhere

    She had two friendly, fluffy white cats
    a black slinky one and a calico
    and she treated the cats like company
    and us like her loyal subjects

    I wasn’t allowed to touch or play with anything
    but she would hug me and check behind my ears
    and she had the best cookies and warmish milk
    and her eyes would always glisten happy tears

    I didn’t see her much but I loved her like I should
    always mentioning her in my bedtime prayers
    and the last time we visited my father found her there
    lying dead at the bottom of the stairs

    © 2007 by Paison de Moot

Comments (13)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *